FOR ADUKE!

Aduke Okin omo Dokita Eleyin_615666

This is perhaps, the most powerful image of Aduke Ayobamidele Aladekomo that I have ever seen. You see, Aduke and I have been friends since way back 2005 when she was still nursing the ambition to be a Lawyer. Her mother is a Lawyer, and her grand father was the famous Supreme Court Justice Karibi-Whyte. That’s for those that don’t know Aduke well. And oh, her father was a Dentist, he has passed on now.

Aduke played at my first book launch. She and her guitar. She was the first human to sing a poem of mine. And she did so much justice to it, so much so that guests were literally crying at the launch. I was humbled. I saw those images, and I still think that this one with Sir Soyinka is her most powerful one. There’s just something about it.

She doesn’t know I’m doing this, hehe, I just yanked it off her bbm.

Aduke also played at my second book launch. The Chairman of the Day was my former boss, and another Afro-Carrying Octogenarian in person of former Minister for Works under Gowon, Sir Femi Okunnu; SAN. He was so impressed, he asked Aduke to come over to his office when she has the time to. I saw that image, and I still think this is very powerful.

This is Aduke, in her utmost and innocent glory. Her core African-ness, and the beauty in every essence within her being. Her arms behind her back whilst she listens to the request of an elder. Her eyes etched on him for orders, and her whole being in attentive comatose. Her body reclined forward, and her knees almost bent over. As if in a transfixed hypnosis. It’s remarkable how still she is, I think it’s more remarkable how the photographer got this image. Did you notice her eyes? How they are so eloquently opened, to grasp and cherish every bit of the words and motion spoken?

Her blackness, and the blackness of her outfit. Her natural and un-bleached self. Her natural, and un-faked features. Her natural, and full feminine substance. Oh, and the sheer ambiance.

Aduke is an Artist. She sings, and she performs. Again, for those that don’t know, she sang that song I wrote for a friend that lost her life to cancer titled Tomorrow Is Not Given, visit my website to listen.

She followed her dream very early in life, and like I always say, if one sticks to their dreams every day, fate will give in, and the world will have no choice, but to accept one.

Today, I can proudly say that Aduke is a Legend. This is not flattery, it’s a fact! Google her, her works, and her influence. We Africans just don’t eulogize ourselves until oyibo people own them. Sad.

She is still dogged on being, and continuing to be what she is, until the end of time. She’s proudly African, and she’s proud to say that wherever. If the true African music has any future, it is definitely dependent on Aduke and her likes flourishing. This lady that has refused to be owned. A hopeless nationalist, if you like.

One of the very few that sing truly for Art, and Art alone. This, ladies and gentlemen, is Aduke; the lady in black. Selah!

Leave a comment